Invest in Russia — invest in Russian regions!
All analytics

Multilateral cooperation in the Arctic through the lens of international Arctic organizations: a situational analysis

Research
30 November 2022
Многостороннее сотрудничество в Арктике сквозь призму международных арктических организаций: ситуационный анализ
Source
,
Release date
11/30/2022
Topics
Open PDF

The report was prepared specifically for the session ‘Multilateral Cooperation in the Arctic through the Prism of International Arctic Organizations: A Situational Analysis’ as part of the Think Arctic — Think Global analytical project discussed the current state of collaboration between Arctic states and prospects for international organizations in the region. The project is being implemented under the auspices of Russia’s chairmanship of the Arctic Council in 2021–2023. The Roscongress Foundation is managing the events of the chairmanship.

The analysis of international cooperation in the Arctic is based on a set of scenarios developed by the research group of the Department of World Economy and World Politics of the National Research University Higher School of Economics to determine the medium-term prospects for overcoming the current economic and geopolitical crises. This set of scenarios is determined by a combination of two key indicators — the rate of world economic recovery and the degree of conflict in international relations for the period up to 2030. The pace of post-crisis recovery of the world economy is a key factor that determines the financial capacity of countries to get involved into international projects in the Arctic. At the same time the degree of conflict in international relations implies not only the degree of tension in relations between Russia and the West, including the severity of anti-Russian sanctions, but also the overall level of mistrust between countries, in particular the degree of divergence between the interests of the United States and China.

Based on the two key vectors of recovery from the current crisis and the trends in the interaction of the countries in the Arctic that have emerged in recent decades, four characteristics that characterize the direction of the development of the Arctic governance system have been formulated. They include the overall functionality of Arctic cooperation institutions, the degree of involvement of non-Arctic countries in the Arctic institutions, the level of fragmentation of governance institutions and the degree of interest divergence between countries, and the priorities and sectoral focus of cooperation between countries.

Each scenario considers opportunities for building international cooperation: from continuing multilateral cooperation in existing formats to creation of new regional systems of interaction. Each scenario explores the possibilities of Russia’s integration into the new architecture of the world order, which in each scenario appear to be feasible to a different extent. It also takes into account the probability of Russia’s continued cooperation with Western countries and the development of partnerships with Asian countries in the face of sanctions.

Anlytics on the topic

All analytics
Research
18 January 2022
Russian-Canadian Cooperation in the Field of Sustainable Development in the Arctic Region 2021-2022

The report was prepared as a result of the event «Russian-Canadian Cooperation in the Field of Sustainable Development in the Arctic Region» as part of the ThinkArctic Project, organized by the Roscongress Foundation, the Center for Comprehensive European and International Studies, and the Analytical Center for the Government of the Russian Federation.


Articles
24 September 2020
The role of conferences within Arctic governance

This article published in Polar Geography magazine, addresses conferences as the central meeting and cooperation point for the international and interdisciplinary community interested in the Arctic development.

Expert opinion
26 November 2021
Training the Next Generation of Arctic Scientists

Summary session «Training a New Generation of Arctic Researchers» within the framework of the Arctic Talent Acquisition Conference, which took place on November 15-16, 2021 in Arkhangelsk.

Research
30 September 2020
Activities of Major Oil and Gas Companies in the Arctic Region

Task force Arctic Energy at the Energy Centre of the Moscow School of Management SKOLKOVO present the second volume of study series Arctic Energy dedicated to analysis of activities of major oil and gas companies in development of the Russian Arctic.

Инвестируй в Россию — инвестируй в регионы!
Вся аналитика

Многостороннее сотрудничество в Арктике сквозь призму международных арктических организаций: ситуационный анализ

Исследования
30 ноября 2022

Доклад подготовлен специально к сессии «Многостороннее сотрудничество в Арктике сквозь призму международных арктических организаций: ситуационный анализ» в рамках аналитического проекта Think Arctic — Think Global. Проект реализуется под эгидой председательства России в Арктическом совете в 2021–2023 гг. Оператором событий председательства является Фонд Росконгресс.

В основе анализа развития международного сотрудничества в Арктике лежат сценарные установки, разработанные авторским коллективом факультета мировой экономики и мировой политики НИУ ВШЭ для определения среднесрочных перспектив по выходу из сложившегося экономического и геополитического кризиса. Данный набор сценариев определяется комбинацией двух ключевых параметров — темпами восстановления мировой экономики и степенью конфликтности международных отношений на период до 2030 г.. Темпы посткризисного восстановления мировой экономики — ключевой фактор, который обуславливает как финансовые возможности стран по включению в реализацию международных проектов в Арктике, так и экономические потребности в них, в то время как степень конфликтности международных отношений, в том числе напряженности в отношениях между Россией и странами Запада, обуславливает различный уровень функциональности институтов и расхождения интересов ключевых участников системы многостороннего сотрудничества в регионе.

С учетом двух ключевых параметров, характеризующих траекторию выхода из текущего экономического и геополитического кризиса, было описано четыре возможных сценария, определяемых четырьмя признаками дальнейшей эволюции системы институтов многостороннего сотрудничества в Арктике. Среди них — общая функциональность работы институтов сотрудничества в регионе, степень вовлеченности неарктических стран в работу арктических институтов, уровень фрагментированности институтов и степень расхождения интересов стран, а также приоритеты и отраслевой фокус сотрудничеств между странами.

В рамках каждого из представленных сценариев рассмотрены возможности для выстраивания международного взаимодействия: от продолжения многостороннего сотрудничества в существующих форматах до построения новых региональных систем взаимодействия. Каждый сценарий рассматривает возможности встраивании России в новую архитектуру мирового порядка, которые в каждом сценарии представляются осуществимыми в разной степени, учитывает вероятность продолжения кооперации России со странами Запада и развитие партнерских отношений со странами Азии в условиях действия санкций.


Аналитика на тему

Все аналитические материалы
Статьи
24 сентября 2020
Роль деловых мероприятий в управлении Арктикой
В статье, опубликованной в журнале Polar Geography, рассматриваются деловые мероприятия как центральное место встречи и сотрудничества международного и междисциплинарного сообщества, заинтересованного в развитии Арктики.
Экспертное мнение
26 ноября 2021
Подготовка квалифицированных кадров для инвестпроектов в Арктике

Саммари сессии «Кадры для инвестиционных проектов в Арктике» в рамках конференции по привлечению кадров в Арктику, состоявшейся в 15-16 ноября 2021 г. в Архангельске.


Исследования
24 сентября 2020
Будущее арктической безопасности. Геополитическая напряженность и последствия для Нидерландов
Специалисты из нидерландского института Clingendael в своей работе исследовали Арктический регион с точки зрения взаимосвязи климатических изменений и геополитического контекста в вопросах безопасности и дальнейшего развития Арктики.